Lucky Igbinedion mixed up in Arevenca case, gets press in Nigeria

The weirdest case I’ve tracked since I started this blog has been that of Skanga, a little unknown Nigerian company that is suing Petroleos de Venezuela SA (PDVSA) for at least $100 million for supposedly taking part in an advance-fee fraud against the Nigerian company. It’s a long and convoluted story. I wrote up one piece last year in a piece called, “PDVSA faces $100 million lawsuit over ambassador’s alleged con man links.” I also wrote a little piece on the same topic in Venezuela’s El Mundo newspaper at the time. Later, I gave a little update on the Venezuelan ambassador at the center of the scandal.

Today, I see my pal Nicholas Ibekwe has published a story based on the latest filings in the case, which show that corrupt (no “allegedly” needed, he pleaded guilty to money laundering) Nigerian governor Lucky Igbinedion and his brother Bright were the registered owners of Skanga during the period in question. There is more, much more, but for now I want to point people to Nicholas’s story. I have to admit I don’t like the style of Nigerian journalism — I would never write that I “can authoritatively reveal” anything. But I’m happy to see this story getting a bit of play in Nigeria, where most of the weirdness went down. One way or another, the people who took part in this game deserve a bit of publicity. Whether it’s for their cleverness or foolishness isn’t for me to decide. The story link again.

2 thoughts on “Lucky Igbinedion mixed up in Arevenca case, gets press in Nigeria

  1. Ken Price

    Having the Venezuela thieves screwing the Nigerian con-men can only be classifies as “poetic justice”.

  2. JAvier

    Well, there are now some things that can be read now that the case is in Court For almost 20 million Dollars all high government probably had a piece of the cake to dance along, Maybe this can explain why by law there is now a special police force to guard high ranking officials. I guess this Mr. Gonzalez is probably disappered already but you will never be able to know if it was voluntary or involuntary.

Comments are closed.